Wk13-Learning Challenges

The learning challenge that was the most interesting to me was reading. I have been an avid readers sense I could remember. I have been long since convinced that I came out of the womb with a book in my hand. I just don’t ever remember not being surrounded by some sort of story. Either word by mouth, or a hardcover book. Stories have been swirling around me for as long as  I could remember. I really enjoyed listening to Uptown Funk-Library Style, I couldn’t help but laugh.

I decided to go with a video about what it’s like to be reader. The first one is adult readers who read YA books. I decided to post it because I have noticed reading Young Adult novels as a 27 year old, I often have better conversations with a 13 year old. Plus I say/do the exact same things as these people. It’s so truthful it hurts and it’s very relateable.

As you can probably tell, I love to read. I don’t think reading in school influenced me as much as reading outside of school did. Sure, when I first started learning how to read I was in school and I caught on really quick. It was an instant love affair. I think the very first thing about teaching reading to students would be find a series/book that is popular within that age group. I think that reading out-loud also teaches kids the value and love of reading. That and it makes it all mote exciting when you can mimic the voices. I also think that acting out scenes in the books help students to want to read because they can become a part of the story.

best-books-book-youll-ever-read.jpg
Stack of Books, Source: WhytoRead

I chose the Desert Island challenge, now lets see if I can choose ten books (No particular Order):

  • The Mortal Instrument Series, by: Cassandra Clare. I chose the Mortal instrument series not only because it has six very large books, but it has prequels (Clockwork Series) and so on.  Plus, it has tons of action, romance and a lot of information that can really have the reader enthralled for hours.
  • The Hunger Games Series, by: Suzanne Collins. It’s just one of those series that you can read multiple times and gather different political and social commentary. It leads you discussing and thinking long after its over.
  • The Harry Potter Series, by: JK Rowling. Multiple books, intriguing characters, hidden meanings. This series always merits re-reading.
  • Millennium Series, by: Stieg Larsson. I read the series once and it was hard to understand at times. It’s a wonderful series, but definitely something you need to read again and again to really soak in all the political, social and financial commentary.
  • The Host, by Stephenie Meyer. Even though I’m still upset by the lack of sequel I loved it enough to want to read it again. Plus, the talk about souls can be rather confusing so I’d like to read it again to better understand.
  • Pride & Prejudice, by Jane Austen. It’s Jane Austen..plain and simple.
  • The Uglies Series, by Scott Westerfield. Futuristic, hover-boarding, a society obsessed with being perfect. Sound familiar? Oh and they have this wicked closet where it gives you whatever clothes you want. Sometimes you just need to get lost in the future.
  • The Scarlet Letter, by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I was one of the few people that liked this book in high school. I always wanted to read it again because it have a great message and interesting story.
  • The Hercule Poirot Series, by Agatha Christie. I love love mysteries and Agatha Christie is one of my favorite writers. It keeps you enthralled and on the edge of your seat!
  • Accidentals Series, by Dakota Cassidy. I love this series! Supernatural romance, the characters are very well developed and its funny. Sometimes you just need a light, fluffy read.
Leave a Reply

