Wk 5 (Pt A) Reading Diary: The Mahabharata

3f4271559d3ccb194035492f50716d71
This Month’s Reading, Source: R.K. Narayan

First of all, upon reading The Mahabharata I was struck by the amount of confusion I had been brought into. When I started reading The Ramayana, I had a clear distinguishing picture of the main characters and I was able to differentiate between who was who. In the The Mahabharata I felt as if I was bombarded by so many characters, in such a short time, that it became muddled and confusing. Therefore, making it harder for me to pinpoint I character I like and could potentially make a story out of. Luckily, I was able to find a few that stood out, so much so, that I really do believe that there is a story meant to be written about them (I know, silly, stupid…way to tree hugger-ish). On page of 11 of The Mahabharata I was introduced to Bhimasena (basically a bully for the that time period), and I thought here is a bully a person that I could easily translate to modern times. Then there’s the victim of the bullying Duryodhanam, that also could translate to modern times. With the onslaught of bullying really getting out of hand, nowadays, it could really leave a powerful message of how the people who are the bullied can sometimes rise above it and sometimes become the perpetrators. Basically, a what could have happened story (If he reacted this way this would have been his future, so on and so forth).

There is also a part in the story where the teacher Drona was to ask the King for a cow to feed his child, but before so the King dismissed him, before he could ask. Simply because Drona called the King a friend. This really stood out to me because he looked down on an individual and thought him lesser than himself. I think I could really conjure up something that could really play into the supernatural aspect that is so prevalent in the Indian Epics (so far), giving the King consequences of his actions toward Drona (but not in the same way the character did).

The Mahabharata, R.K. Narayan

Leave a Reply

