Wk 4 (Pt B) Reading Diary, continued: Sita Sings the Blues

85-atxl1
Finding Independence & Happiness, Source: Sita Sings the Blues

First things first, I really don’t know what to think about the second half of the story. I was such a supporter of Rama, throughout The Ramayana that to find this type of cruelty heartbreaking. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t believe the story ended this way. I was especially saddened about the treatment of Sita. Whom has endured many, many hardships throughout her relationship with Rama. So much so, that I believe that the only justice I could do to Sita’s character is to fabricate a happy ending for her. There is nothing of Sita Sings the Blues (Part B) that I wish to keep other than the concept of becoming one with Mother Earth. I think there is a peaceful solace that came to Sita’s character in that moment. It is also with that moment Rama, at least I think, realized he compromised his own virtue.

I also would love to showcase Sita as a strong, independent woman who has the ability to overcome any hardship sent her way, and when Rama comes back still questioning her purity she does not stand for it. Instead she goes against the restrictions that society has placed on women (and etc.) because she no longer is a part of society, but is instead a part of the forest she loved so dearly with Rama. So, this means that there will be a lot of nature aspects to the story (If I can manage to make it work). In other words, nature taught Sita to be independent and strong.

P.s. Sita tells Rama, that he has compromised his own virtue, by not believing what the Gods has shown him. Also, telling him that he became the very thing he was always trying not to be. I want Sita to be brave, a force to be reckoned with.

Leave a Reply

